Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Wage and Hours

Minimum Wage - The New York State minimum wage is $8.00 per hour. On December 31, 2014, this rate will increase to $8.75 per hour. On December 31, 2015, this rate will increase to $9.00 per hour.

Posting Requirements - This is a listing of required postings in New York State.

Wage & Hour Laws - View a summary of the NYS wage and hour laws that are enforced by the Department of Labor Division of Labor Standards.

Prevailing Wages for Public Work Contracts - Find the wages, benefits and work hours required for employees on public work projects.  Public work contracts generally apply to the construction, repair or renovation of government or public facilities, including but not limited to, buildings, bridges and roadways.

Prevailing Wages for Unemployment Insurance - Find the “cutoff wage” rates that unemployment insurance recipients must accept if offered a job. Wages that fail to meet the "cutoff wage" may be refused by job seekers without forfeiture of their UI benefits.

Prevailing Wages for an H1-B Professional Worker - Find the wage determination request form you need to file for a temporary specialty occupation H-1B Visa using the U.S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration’s Labor Condition Application (Form ETA 9035).

Average Wage by Occupation - Find statewide and regional wage data by occupation, based on the Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) survey.

Average Wages by Industry - Find wage data by industry for New York State, metropolitan areas, and counties, based on the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages (QCEW).

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.