Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Federal Bonding Program

New York State proudly supports the Federal Bonding Program
A US Department of Labor Initiative since 1966
A Unique Job Placement Tool for the At-Risk Job Seeker

The Federal Bonding Program (FBP) was created as a job placement tool to assist at-risk job seekers. The purpose of the program is to provide fidelity bonding at no cost to a business for the first six months of employment for hard-to-place job applicants. We promote the benefits of the FBP at all New York State Career Centers.

NYSDOL Printable Reference Documents:

Local Bonding coordinators

LocationBonding CoordinatorAddressContact Information
Albany Jay Mattoon Career Central
175 Central Avenue
Albany, NY 12206
(518) 462-7600 ext. 151
Jay.Mattoon@labor.ny.gov
Albion Kelly McDonald Orleans Center for Workforce Development
458 West Avenue, Suite 3
Albion, NY 14411
(585) 589-5335 ext. 124
Kelly.McDonald@labor.ny.gov
Amsterdam Christina Strubel Amsterdam Workforce Solutions
2620 Riverfront Center
Amsterdam, NY 12010
(518) 842-3676
Christina.Strubel@labor.ny.gov
Auburn Kimberly Healy Cayuga Works Career Center
199 Franklin Street, Suite 204
Auburn, NY 13021
(315) 255-4911
Kimberly.Healy@labor.ny.gov
Ballston Spa Polly Monahan Saratoga County Employment & Training
152 West High Street
Ballston Spa, NY 12020
(518) 824-8891
Polly.Monahan@labor.ny.gov
Batavia Amy Riter Genesee County Career Center
587 East Main Street, Suite 100 (Eastown Plaza)
Batavia, NY 14020
(585) 344-2042 ext. 265
Amy.Riter@labor.ny.gov
Binghamton Jennifer Slade Broome-Tioga Workforce New York
171 Front Street
Binghamton, NY 13905
(607) 778-3955
Jennifer.Slade@labor.ny.gov
Bronx Mary Miller Workforce1 Career Center
400 E. Fordham Road (8th Floor)
Bronx, NY 10458
(718) 960-7912
Mary.Miller@labor.ny.gov
Brooklyn Sarah Lopez-Echeverria Brooklyn Workforce1 Career Center
9 Bond Street (5th Floor)
Brooklyn, NY 11201
And
MetroTech Workforce1 Career Center
250 Schermerhorn Street Brooklyn, NY 11201
(718) 613-3776
Sarah.Lopez-Echeverria@labor.ny.gov
Buffalo Phyllis Damico Buffalo Career Center
284 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
And
Buffalo Employment & Training Center
77 Goodell Street Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 851-2680
Phyllis.Damico@labor.ny.gov
Canton Reggie Hooper St. Lawrence Career Center
80 State Highway 310 (Suite 8)
Canton, NY 13617-1498
(315) 229-3372
Reggie.Hooper@labor.ny.gov
Carmel Marisabel Richman Westchester/Putnam Career Center
110 Old Route 6 (Building 3)
Carmel, NY 10512
(845) 808-1651 ext. 46601
Marisabel.Richman@labor.ny.gov
Cobleskill Christina Strubel Cobleskill Workforce Solutions
795 East Main Street (Suite 4)
Cobleskill, NY 12043
(518) 842-3676
Christina.Strubel@labor.ny.gov
Corning Gregory Nagle CSS Workforce NY
20 Denison Parkway West, Suite 102
Corning, NY 14830
(607) 937-8337 ext. 1111
Gregory.Nagle@labor.ny.gov
Cortland Carol Buffone Cortland Works Career Center
99 Main Street
Cortland, NY 13045
(607) 756-7585
Carol.Buffone@labor.ny.gov
Dunkirk Vicki Cocca Chautauqua Works
407 Central Avenue
Dunkirk, NY 14048
(716) 366-9015 ext. 1233
Vicki.Cocca@labor.ny.gov
Elmira Julia Murphy CSC Workforce NY, Elmira Career Center
318 Maidson Avenue
Elmira, NY 14901
(607) 733-7131 ext. 2120
Julia.Murphy@labor.ny.gov
Flushing Robert Haber
Or, Osvaldo Volkers
Flushing Workforce1 Career Center
138-60 Barclay Avenue (2nd Floor)
Flushing, NY 11355
(718) 321-6363 (Haber)
(718) 321-6335 (Volkers)
Robert.Haber@labor.ny.gov
Osvaldo.Volkers@labor.ny.gov
Fort Edward Polly Monahan Career Center of Washington County
383 Broadway
Fort Edward, NY 12828
(518) 824-8891
Polly.Monahan@labor.ny.gov
Fulton Mary Battista Oswego Workforce New York
200 N. 2nd Street
Fulton, NY 13069
(315) 591-9305
Mary.Battista@labor.ny.gov
Geneseo James McManus Livingston County Office of Workforce Development
6 Court Street (Room 105)
Geneseo, NY 14454
(585) 243-7047
James.McManus@labor.ny.gov
Geneva Barbara Delpriore Finger Lakes Works-Geneva
70 Elizabeth Blackwell Street
Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 789-1771 ext. 114
Barbara.Delpriore@labor.ny.gov
Harlem Jamalya Harley NYC Workforce1 Career Center
215 Eest 125th Street, 6th Floor
Between 7th & 8th Aveneues
New York, NY 10027
(917) 493-7238 ext. 114
Jamalya.Harley@labor.ny.gov
Hauppauge Elizabeth Driscoll Suffolk County Employment Center
725 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788
(631) 853-6591
Elizabeth.Driscoll@labor.ny.gov
Hempstead Louis Meister Hempstead Works Career Center
Hempstead Executive Plaza
50 Clinton Street (Suite 110)
Hempstead, NY 11550
(516) 485-5000 ext. 1193
Louis.Meister@labor.ny.gov
Herkimer Cheryl Blask Working Solutions Career Center
320 N. Prospect Street
Herkimer, NY 13350
(315) 867-1400
Cheryl.Blask@labor.ny.gov
Hicksville James Ramirez Hicksville Career Center
301 West Old Country Road
Hicksville, NY 11801
(516) 934-8539
James.Ramirez@labor.ny.gov
Hornell Mary C. Kelly CSC Workforce NY, Hornell Career Center
107 Broadway
Hornell, NY 14843
(607) 324-8388
Mary.Kelly@labor.ny.gov
Hudson Frances Abea Columbia Greene Community College
4400 Route 23
Hudson, NY 12534
(518) 828-4654 ext. 4206
Frances.Abea@labor.ny.gov
Ithaca Ramona Emery Tompkins Workforce New York Career Center
Center Ithaca (Suite 241)
171 East State Street
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 272-7570 ext. 126
Ramona.Emery@labor.ny.gov
Jamaica Charles Ellington SUNY Queens Educational Opportunity Center
158-29 Archer Avenue, 2nd Floor
Jamaica, NY 11433
And
Queens Career Center
168-25 Jamaica Avenue, 2nd Floor
Jamaica, NY 11432
(718) 725-3361
Charles.Ellington@labor.ny.gov
Jamestown Judy Mohney Jamestown Career Center
23 E. 3rd Street
Jamestown, NY 14701
(716) 661-9553 ext. 1217
Judy.Mohney@labor.ny.gov
Kingston Patricia LaSpina Ulster County Career Center
601 Development Court, Ulster Avenue
Kingston, NY 12401
(845) 338-4696 ext. 3017
Patricia.LaSpina@labor.ny.gov
Lockport Amy Peck Lockport WorkSourceOne Center
81 Walnut Street
Lockport, NY 14094
(716) 433-6766
Amy.Peck@labor.ny.gov
Lyons Scott Sigel Finger Lakes Works Career Center
1519 Nye Road (Suite 601)
Lyons, NY 14489
(315) 946-7268
Scott.Sigel@labor.ny.gov
Malone Joy Kasson Malone OneWorkSource Center
158 Finney Boulevard
Malone, NY 12953
(518) 481-5755 ext. 3035
Joy.Kasson@labor.ny.gov
Manhattan Santiago Ortiz Lower Manhattan Workforce1 Career Center
1 Hudson Square
75 Varick Street, NY 10013
(212) 775-3736 ext. 3035
Santiago.Ortiz@labor.ny.gov
Massena Michael Doyle Massena New York State Department of Labor
35 Glenn Street
Massena, NY 13662
(315) 769-3596 ext. 112
Michael.Doyle@labor.ny.gov
Middletown Genevieve Curio Orange Works Career Center
33 Fulton St. (Fulton Plaza, 2nd Floor)
Middletown, NY 10940
(845) 346-1302
Genevieve.Curio@labor.ny.gov
Monticello Robert Mares Sullivan Works Career Center
50 North Street
Monticello, NY 12701
(845) 794-3341 ext. 0630
Robert.Mares@labor.ny.gov
Mount Vernon Michael Lamm Mt. Vernon Employment Center
100 East First St.
Mt. Vernon, NY 10550
(914) 813-6153 ext. 0630
Michael.Lamm@labor.ny.gov
Newburgh Laura Hashim Orange Works Career Center
The Maple Building
3 Washington Center (4th Floor) Newburgh, NY 12550
(845) 568-5392
Laura.Hashim@labor.ny.gov
Niagara Falls Jennifer Jackson Trott ACCESS Center, New York State Department of Labor
1001 11th Street
Niagara Falls, NY 14301
(716) 278-8271
Jennifer.Jackson@labor.ny.gov
Norwich Susan Carimando-Sheldon CDO Workforce
Ohara Drive
Norwich, NY 13815
(607) 334-2201 ext. 103
Susan.Carimando-Sheldon@labor.ny.gov
Ogdensburg Reggie Hooper St. Lawrence Career Center
1020 Park Street
Ogdensburg, NY 13669
(315) 393-4600 ext. 109
Reggie.Hooper@labor.ny.gov
Olean Christopher Kokoszka Cattaraugus Career Center
175 North Union Street (Suite 4)
Olean, NY 14760
(716) 373-1880 ext. 109
Christopher.Kokoszka@labor.ny.gov
Oneida Stephanie Madia Working Solutions Career Center
1006 Oneida Plaza Drive
Oneida, NY 13421
(315) 363-2400
Stephanie.Madia@labor.ny.gov
Oneonta Susan Carimando-Sheldon CDO Workforce Center
12 Dietz Street
Oneonta, NY 13820
(607) 432-4800 ext. 117
Susan.Carimando-Sheldon@labor.ny.gov
Owego Jennifer Slade Tioga Employment Center
1062 State Route 38, PO Box 108
Owego, NY 13827
(607) 778-3955
Jennifer.Slade@labor.ny.gov
Patchogue Gary Gualberti
Or, Dolores Mckinnon
NYS Department of Labor
160 South Ocean Avenue
Patchogue, NY 11772
(631) 687-4876 (Gualberti)
(631) 687-4815 (McKinnon)
Gary.Gualberti@labor.ny.gov
Dolores.McKinnon@labor.ny.gov
Peekskill Madelene Knaggs Peekskill Employment Center
201 James Street
Peekskill, NY 10566
(914) 737-3490 ext. 318
Madelene.Knaggs@labor.ny.gov
Plattsburgh Victoria Mangieri One WorkSource
194 US Oval
Plattsburgh, NY 12903
(518) 561-0430 ext. 3082
Victoria.Mangieri@labor.ny.gov
Poughkeepsie Mary O'Connell Dutchess Career Center
233 Main Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 473-9000 ext. 153
Mary.O'Connell@labor.ny.gov
Queensbury Polly Monahan Career Center of Warren County
Northway Plaza
Queensbury, NY 12804
(518) 824-8891
Polly.Monahan@labor.ny.gov
Rochester Barbara Delpriore Rochester Works! Career Center
255 North Goodman Street
Rochester, NY 14607
And
Rochester Works! Career Center
276 Waring Road
Rochester, NY 14609
(315) 789-1771 ext. 114
Barbara.Delpriore@labor.ny.gov
Rome Ryan Lynch Rome Working Solutions
300 West Dominick Street (Suite 1)
Rome, NY 13440
(315) 356-0662
Ryan.Lynch@labor.ny.gov
Schenectady Jay Mattoon Schenectady Job Training Agency
797 Broadway
Schenectady, NY 12305
(518) 344-2795
Jay.Mattoon@labor.ny.gov
Spring Valley Joanne Sena Tomorrow's Workplace
OnePerlman Drive
Spring Valley, NY 10977
(845) 356-6323
Joanne.Sena@labor.ny.gov
Staten Island Altagrace Cange Staten Island Workforce1 Career Center
120 Stuvyesant Plaza (3rd Floor)
Staten Island, NY 10301
(718) 285-8478
Altagrace.Cange@labor.ny.gov
Syracuse Marie Christopher CNY Works
443 North Franklin Street, Lower Level
Syracuse, NY 13204
(315) 477-6973
Marie.Christopher@labor.ny.gov
Troy Malee Lennon Rensselaer County Career Center
1600 7th Avenue, 4th Floor
Troy, NY 12180
(518) 270-2978
Malee.Lennon@labor.ny.gov
Utica Robert Ichihana Working Solutions Career Center
NY State Office Building - Suite 202
207 Genesee Street, 2nd Floor
Utica, NY 13501
(315) 793-5392
Robert.Ichihana@labor.ny.gov
Warsaw Cheryl Smith Warsaw Career Center
448 North Main Street
Warsaw, NY 14569
(585) 786-3672
Cheryl.Smith@labor.ny.gov
Watertown Brandon Amo The Work Place
1000 Coffeen Street
Watertown, NY 13601

(315) 786-3673 http://sqldol0a1aapod/iw-cc/command/Brandon.Amo@labor.ny.gov

White Plains Gloria Feuerstein Westchester County Emplyoment Center
120 Bloomingdale Road
White Plains, NY 10605
(914) 995-4992
Gloria.Feuerstein@labor.ny.gov
Williamsville Dawn Petko Williamsville Career Center
4175 Transit Road
Williamsville, NY 14221
(716) 634-9081 ext. 236
Dawn.Petko@labor.ny.gov
Yonkers Gwen Rice Yonkers Employment Center
20 South Broadway, 12th Floor
Yonkers, NY 10701
(914) 965-9500 ext. 249
Gwendolyn.Rice@labor.ny.gov

Questions and Answers

  • What is the New York State Federal Bonding Program?

    It is a unique tool established to help a “high risk” job applicant get and keep a job. The program issues Fidelity Bonds and is federally sponsored by USDOL.

  • What is a fidelity bond?

    It is a business insurance policy that protects you in case of any losses due to employee dishonesty. It is a “guarantee” that the person hired will be an honest worker. The Fidelity Bonds issued under the FBP are insurance policies from the Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America. We purchase bond packages from The McLaughlin Company to aid job seekers who have barriers to employment.

  • How does the bond help someone get a job?

    The bond is given to the business free for six months. It serves as an incentive to hire an applicant who has a “risk” factor in his/her background, such as poor credit or lack of a work history. You are able to acquire the worker’s skills without the risk of worker dishonesty.

  • What exactly does the bond insurance cover?

    It insures businesses for any type of stealing (theft, forgery, larceny or embezzlement). It does not cover liability due to poor workmanship, job injuries or work accidents. It is not a bail bond or court bond for the legal system. It is not a contract bond, performance bond or license bond (sometimes needed to be self-employed).

  • What restrictions exist in the program's bond coverage?

    The worker must meet the legal age for working in New York State. Employers must pay wages to the workers, with Federal taxes automatically deducted from pay. The job must have the potential to last at least six months. We cannot cover self-employed persons.

  • Who does the program help?

    It offers bond coverage for any person whose background usually leads businesses to question his/her honesty and in effect, deny that person a job. The program will cover any person who may be considered a “risk,” such as someone with:

    • A record of arrest, conviction or imprisonment (Anyone who has ever been on parole or probation, or has any police record)
    • Recovery from substance abuse (persons rehabilitated through treatment for alcohol and/or drug abuse)
    • Poor credit record or have declared bankruptcy
    • Dishonorable discharge from the military
    • Lack of work history
    • Current or past participation in any State or local-operated summer or year-round youth program
  • Can bonding be issued to cover an already employed worker?

    The FBP is designed to help applicants who are having a difficult time finding a job due to their backgrounds. However, we can issue a bond to cover an incumbent worker who is not bondable under your insurance. The program may be needed to secure a transfer or promotion to a new job or to prevent layoff or termination.

  • Since businesses buy fidelity bond insurance to protect against employee dishonesty, why is the program's bond needed?

    Fidelity Bonds that you may purchase do not cover anyone who has a poor credit history or has already committed "a fraudulent or dishonest act." Ex-offenders and other job applicants with questionable backgrounds are designated by the insurance industry as "not bondable". Only the FBP will issue bonds that cover anyone who is usually not bondable. As a result, we eliminate bonding as a barrier to hiring.

  • How long does the program's fidelity bond coverage exist?

    Bond insurance is issued free for six months. If the worker demonstrates job honesty during the six months of FBP coverage, you can purchase continued bond coverage.

  • Can bonding be issued for a worker assigned to a part-time job or a temporary job?

    Yes. Part-time employment and temporary work of six months or more can be bonded.

  • Is a person on welfare automatically eligible for bonding?

    Most welfare recipients will qualify due to poor credit history or bankruptcy. Also, ex-offenders, recovering substance abusers or those lacking a work history may qualify.

  • Who must request issuance of the fidelity bond?

    Bond issuance can be requested by either the business or the job applicant. To apply, contact the nearest Local Bonding Coordinator from the list above.

  • Can the bond be issued at any time?

    No. You must have a job offer and a start date before we can issue a bond. The FPB insures you for a six-month period. The job start date will be the effective date and will terminate six months later.

  • What amout of bond insurance can be issued?

    Bond coverage is in increments of $5,000. The maximum is $25,000. There is no liability deductive for the business. In order to obtain a bond greater than $5,000, it must be approved by the NYS Bonding Coordinator.

  • What papers must the business sign and what other actions must the business take in order to get the bond?

    None. Once the date is set for the applicant to start work, the bond can be issued instantly. The employer signs no papers and keeps no special records as the bond is self-terminating. The bond is mailed directly to the employer by The McLaughlin Company as agent for Travelers.

  • What do you have to do to acquire bonding services?

    You should contact the nearest Local Bonding Coordinator from the list above.

  • What is the contact information for the state bonding coordinator?

    Angela Crupe
    New York State Department of Labor
    State Office Campus
    Building 12, Room 425
    Albany, NY 12240
    Phone: (518) 485-2151
    Fax: (518) 485-2577
    Email: Angela.Crupe@labor.ny.gov

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.