Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Displaced Homemaker Program

This program serves people who have been displaced from their careers as unpaid homemakers. It offers services to help with the challenges people in these situations often face.

Some people have trouble finding:

  • Child care
  • Transportation
  • Housing
  • Basic necessities
  • Jobs

Others may face:

  • Emotional challenges
  • Medical needs
  • Legal problems

Services include:

  • Crisis intervention
  • Counseling
  • Referral to community service agencies
  • Assertiveness training
  • Decision-making training
  • Assessment
  • Resume writing
  • Job search strategies
  • Job clubs

The final goal is for people to become employed and economically independent.

If you or someone you know can benefit from this program, visit or call the center nearest you.

NYS Displaced Homemaker Centers
Counties Contact Location Address Phone
Albany
Albany
Rensselaer
Schenectady
Ms. Elizabeth Miller
bmiller@cdwerc.org
Capital District Women's Employment and Resource Center
175 Central Avenue, 3rd Floor
Albany, NY 12206
120 Defreest Ave
Troy, NY 12180
P: (518) 462-7600 X184
Schenectady
Albany
Rensselaer
Schenectady
Chari Jones
Cjones@scapny.org
Schenectady Community Action Program
913 Albany Street
Schenectady, NY 12305
P: (518) 374-9181
F: (518) 688-0571
Olean
Cattaraugus
Allegany
Heather Schultz
hschultz@everywoman.org
Everywoman Opportunity Center - Olean
132 N. Union Street, Suite 107
Olean, NY 14760
P: (716) 373-4013
Dunkirk
Chautauqua
Valerie Easterly
veasterly@everywoman.org
Everywoman Opportunity Center - Dunkirk
324 Central Ave, Suite 11
Dunkirk, NY 14048
P: (716) 366-7020
Buffalo
Erie
Ivy Diggs-Washington
iwashington@everywoman.org
Everywoman Opportunity Centers of Western NY (5 Centers) - Buffalo
237 Main Street, Suite 330
Buffalo, NY 14203
P: (716) 847-1120
F: (716) 847-1550
Tomawanda
Erie
Virginia Mcintyre
vmcintyre@everywoman.org
Everywoman Opportunity Center - Tonawanda
45 Dalton Dr
Tonawanda, NY 14223
P: (716) 837-2260
Johnstown
Fulton
Montgomery
Schoharie
Chari Jones
Cjones@scapny.org
Schenectady Community Action Program - Fulton/Montgomery CC
2805 State Hwy. 67
Johnstown, NY 12095
P: (518) 374-9181
Cobleskill
Fulton
Montgomery
Schoharie
Pat O'Connor
employment@sccapinc.org
Schoharie County Community Action Displaced Homemaker Program
795-East Main Street - Suite 5
Cobleskill, NY 12043
P: (518) 234-2568
F: (518) 234-3507
Hempstead
Hempstead
Long Beach
LaVonne Erskine
laverski@eoc-nassau.org
EOC of Nassau County, Inc.
134 Jackson Street
Hempstead, NY 11550
P: (516) 292-9710
F: (516) 565-3768
Utica
Herkimer
Madison
Oneida
Stephanie Eghigian
seghigian@centralny.twcbc.com
Women's Employment and Resource Center
1411 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501
P: (315) 793-9700
F: (315) 793-9966
Rochester
Monroe
Lori Garofalo
lgarofalo@lifespan-roch.org
LIFESPAN - Women in Transition Services
1900 South Clinton Avenue
Rochester, NY 14618
P: (585) 244-8400 X131
F: (585) 244-9125
Niagara Falls
Niagara
Cheryly McInerny
cmcinerny@everywoman.org
Everywoman Opportunity Center - Niagara Falls
1905 Pine Ave, Suite A
Niagara Falls, NY 14301
P: (716) 282-8472
Bronx
New York City
Blanche Kellawon
blanche.kellawon@bcc.cuny.edu
Research Foundation of CUNY - Bronx Community College
West 181 Street and University Avenue, Rm. 410
Bronx, NY 10453
P: (718) 289-5834
F: (718) 289-6343
Brooklyn
New York City
Lisa Berman
AIFRESHSTART@yahoo.com
Agudath Israel of America - Fresh Start
1756 Ocean Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11230
P: (718) 338-9200
F: (718) 377-3151
New York City
New York City
Claudette Spence
cspence@ywcanyc.org
YWCA of the City of New York
500 West 56th Street
New York, NY 10019
P: (212) 735-9773
F: (917) 369-9096
Long Island City
New York City
Vanessa Jarvis
Vjarvis@lagcc.cuny.edu
The Research Foundation of CUNY - LaGuardia Community College, Home to Work Center
31-10 Thomson Avenue, Room C-344
Long Island City, NY 11101
P: (718) 482-5171
F: (718) 609-2076
Syracuse
Onondaga
Mary White
wockikiwhite@yahoo.com
Women's Opportunity Center
901 James Street, 2nd floor
Syracuse, NY 13203
P: (315) 446-0550
Copiague
Suffolk
Isabella Auditore
iauditore@fegs.org
FEGS Suffolk Vocational Center
445 Oak Street Street
Copiague, NY 11726
P: (631) 691-7080 X332401
F: 631-264-7787
Hauppauge
Suffolk
Marc Bossert
Marc.Bossert@suffolkcountyny.gov
Suffolk County DOL
725 Veterans Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788
P: (631) 853-6582
F: (631) 853-6670
Ithaca
Tompkins
Dammi Herath, PhD
dammi@womensopportunity.org
Women's Opportunity Center
315 North Tioga Street
Ithaca, NY 14850
P: (607) 272-1520
F: (607) 272-2251

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.