Albany, NY (May 27, 2011) -
As the amusement park season begins this Memorial Day weekend, the New York State Department of Labor reminds all New Yorkers of the importance of following basic safety guidelines on rides at amusement parks and traveling carnivals.
The Department of Labor's park safety web site - www.ridesafeny.com - offers parents and children helpful tips on ride safety, along with a directory of amusement parks in New York State. The site also makes it simple to e-mail the Department to report unsafe conditions.
The Labor Department enforces amusement ride safety throughout the state, except in New York City, where it is the responsibility of the NYC Department of Buildings. It inspects rides at stationary parks at least once a year, and at traveling carnivals or fairs every time a ride is set up in a new location. Last year, the department inspected more than 1,565 venues and 11,227 amusement devices.
The agency's Division of Labor Standards also monitors amusement parks, fairs and carnivals throughout the state to ensure compliance with New York State labor laws. Minimum wage in New York State is $7.25 per hour. For most occupations, employees must be paid overtime after 40 hours of work in a week at 1 ½ times their hourly rate of pay.
The Department of Labor offers consumers the following ride safety guidelines:
Parents with children: