Hearing Aid Dispenser
A hearing aid dispenser is a qualified individual engaged in the practice of fitting, selecting, renting, adapting and/or servicing hearing aids or any other instrument used to improve upon or compensate for impaired hearing. Explicitly included are testing and fitting procedures. Testing is only for purposes of fitting, and is not an audio logical or medical examination.
Applicants to become licensed as a hearing aid dispenser must be at least 21 years of age.
An applicant pursuing a license to practice as a hearing aid dispenser in New York State must file an application for licensure/registration with the New York State Department of State, Division of Licensing Services. The latest information and requirements for licensure are available on the New York State Department of State website at: http://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/hearingaid/hearingaid.html
Applicants may apply for licensure/registration as a hearing aid dispenser based upon any of the following options:
(A) Audiologists licensed under Article 159 of the New York State Education Law with proof of 6 months of experience in the dispensing of hearing aids in New York State, immediately preceding January 1, 2000, may be issued a license to dispense hearing aids without taking an exam.
(B) Audiologists licensed under Article 159 of the New York State Education Law without experience must pass the practical proficiency examination, but are exempt from taking a written exam, course of instruction and/or 12-month training program. Clinical Fellowship Year Candidates (CFYs), i.e., audiologists in training, who wish to dispense hearing aids while completing training, may apply for a temporary license to dispense hearing aids under the supervision of a hearing aid dispenser licensed for practice in New York. A clinic must be registered as both a business and a school. CFYs who graduate and are issued a license to practice as an audiologist in New York may then apply to the New York State Department of State to take the practical proficiency examination.
(C) First-time applicants must complete a 1-year traineeship under the direct supervision of a dispenser registered to practice in New York, complete a New York State-mandated course of instruction, and pass both the written and practical proficiency examinations. Applicants become eligible to take these examinations upon completion of at least 6 months of the traineeship, and the required course of instruction. Specific details are provided on the hearing aid dispenser application form.
(D) Two years of College accredited course work or its equivalent.
Fees:(as of August 1, 2012)
- $50 -- Both written and practical proficiency examinations
- $50 -- Re-test for any exam component
- $150 -- Registration (individual)
- $30 -- Temporary registration (individual)
Registration term is 2 years, but a temporary registration for a traineeship is valid for 1 year. A temporary certificate of registration may be renewed only once for a period of 1 year upon written verification of continued supervision by a registered hearing aid dispenser.
Licenses Issued and Active
From January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011, there were 424 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of June 25, 2012, there were 1,352 active licenses outstanding for this occupation.
New York State Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
One Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, New York 12201-2001
Phone: (518) 474-4429
Fax: (518) 473-6648
Standard Occupational Classification
29-9099 - Healthcare Practitioners and Technical Workers, All Other
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 8/6/12.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.