Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Licensed Clinical Social Worker


The Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) may provide a variety of services to help individuals, families, groups and communities including community organization, administration of tests and measures of psychosocial functioning, advocacy, case management, counseling, consultation, research, administration, management and teaching, plus the diagnosis of mental, emotional, behavioral, addictive and developmental disorders and disabilities and the provision of psychotherapy.

Licensure Requirements:

An applicant must have an MSW degree with clinical content, three years of post-MSW supervised experience in diagnosis and psychotherapy, be of good moral character and pass the national licensing examination.

Recertification Requirements:

Triennial registration requires completion of application and fee set in law. Effective January 1, 2014, a licensee must complete 36 hours of acceptable continuing education from a provider approved by the Education Department during each three-year registration period.

Age Requirements:

At least 21 years of age.

Education and/or Experience Requirements:

Must have an MSW degree of at least 60 semester hours with required course content in clinical social work including supervised internship of at least 900 hours, acceptable to the Department and complete 3 years of full-time post-MSW supervised experience in diagnosis and psychotherapy, acceptable to the Department.

Fees: (as of January 31, 2011)

The fee for licensure and first registration is $294.
The fee for a limited permit is $70
The continuing education fee of $45 is paid by the licensee with the triennial registration fee (effective 1/1/2015).

Examination Requirements:

Clinical examination from the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB).

Examination Description:

Examination is computer-based at test sites across the U.S. and determines minimal competence for entry to the practice of the clinical social work profession (

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2012, there were 1,049 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2013, there were 1,193 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of April 1, 2014, there were 27,323 registered licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Social Work Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 592
Fax: (518) 402-2323

Standard Occupational Classification:

21-1021 to 21-1029 - Various Social Workers to All Other Social Workers To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information:

Association of Social Worker Boards
400 Southridge Parkway, Suite B
Culpeper, VA 22701
Phone: (800) 225-6880
Fax: (540) 829-0562


Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 7/29/14.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.