The Licensed Creative Arts Therapist uses the arts, as approved by the Department, for the assessment, evaluation and therapeutic intervention and treatment of mental, emotional, developmental and behavioral disorders. The Licensed Creative Arts Therapist uses assessment instruments and psychotherapy to identify, evaluate and treat dysfunctions and disorders for the purpose of providing appropriate creative arts therapy services.
An applicant must have a graduate degree in creative arts therapy, 1,500 hours of post-degree supervised experience, be of good moral character and pass the national licensing examination.
Triennial registration requires completion of application and fee set in law.
At least 21 years of age.
Must have a graduate degree in creative arts therapy with required course content, as determined by the Department and 1,500 hours of supervised experience, acceptable to the Department.
The fee for licensure and first registration is $371.
The fee for a limited permit is $70.
National examination for certification in music therapy, certification in art therapy, or case narratives scored by the Education Department.
Examinations are given at various times and locations to determine minimal competence for entry to the practice of creative arts therapy.
In 2010, there were 120 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2011, there were 106 licenses issued for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Mental Health Practitioners Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 592
Phone: (518) 486-2981
29-1129.00 - Therapists, All Other
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 10/4/12.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.