Licensed Master Social worker
The Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) may provide a variety of services to help individuals, families, groups and communities including community organization, administration of tests and measures of psychosocial functioning, advocacy, case management, counseling, consultation, research, administration, management and teaching.
An applicant must have an MSW degree, be of good moral character and pass the national licensing examination.
Triennial registration requires completion of application and fee set in law.
At least 21 years of age.
Education and/or Experience Requirements
Must have an MSW degree of at least 60 semester hours with required course content including supervised internship of at least 900 hours, acceptable to the Department.
Fees: (as of January 31, 2011)
The fee for licensure and first registration is $294.
The fee for a limited permit is $70.
Master's examination from the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB).
Examination is computer-based at test sites across the U.S. and determines minimal competence for entry to the practice of the social work profession (www.aswb.org).
Licenses Issued and Active
In 2010, there were 2,414 licenses fissued for this occupation.
In 2011, there were 2,546 licenses fissued for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Social Work Unit
89 Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 592
Phone: (518) 486-2981
Occupational Reference Code
21-1021 to 21-1029 - Various Social Workers to All Other Social Workers
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 10/4/12.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.