The Licensed Mental Health Counselor uses verbal or behavioral methods with individuals, couples, families or groups to evaluate, assess, ameliorate, treat, modify or adjust to a disability, problem or disorder of behavior, character, development, emotion, personality or relationship. The mental health counselor uses assessment instruments and psychotherapy to identify, evaluate and treat dysfunctions and disorders.
An applicant must have a graduate degree in mental health counseling, 3,000 hours of post-degree supervised experience, be of good moral character and pass the national licensing examination.
Triennial registration requires completion of application and fee set in law.
At least 21 years of age.
Must have a graduate degree in mental health counseling with required content and 600 hours of internship and 3,000 hours of post-degree supervised experience, acceptable to the Department.
The fee for licensure and first registration is $371.
The fee for a limited permit is $70.
Clinical mental health examination from the National Board for Certified Counselors.
Examination is computer-based at test sites across the U.S. and determines minimal competence for entry to the practice of the mental health counseling through the use of simulations (www.nbcc.org).
In 2010, there were 280 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2011, there were 332 licenses issued for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Mental Health Practitioners Unit
89 Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 592
Fax: (518) 486-2981
21-1014.00 - Mental Health Counselors
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 10/5/12.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.