Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Licensed Psychoanalyst

Description:

The Licensed Psychoanalyst uses assessment instruments and psychotherapy to identify, evaluate and treat dysfunctions and disorders for the purpose of providing appropriate psychoanalytic services. The psychoanalyst observes, describes, evaluates and interprets dynamic unconscious mental processes that contribute to the formation of personality and behavior in order to identify and resolve unconscious psychic problems which affect interpersonal relationships and emotional development, to facilitate changes in personality and behavior through the use of verbal and non-verbal cognate and emotional communication and to develop adaptive functioning.

Licensure Requirements:

An applicant must have a graduate degree in any field and complete a program in psychoanalysis registered by the Department, 1,500 hours of supervised experience, be of good moral character and pass the licensing examination.

Recertification Requirements:

Triennial registration requires completion of application and fee set in law.

Age Requirements:

At least 21 years of age.

Education and/or Experience Requirements:

Must have a graduate degree in any field and complete a registered program in psychoanalysis that includes specific course work and internship, or the equivalent as determined by the Department, and complete 1,500 hours of supervised experience in psychoanalysis, acceptable to the Department.

Fees: (as of January 31, 2012)

The fee for licensure and first registration is $371.
The fee for a limited permit is $70.

Examination Requirements:

Examination consists of case narratives scored by the Education Department and completed at test centers in the U.S.

Examination Description:

Examinations are given at various times and locations to determine minimal competence for entry to the practice of psychoanalysis. Candidate must complete two narratives that describe the assessment, evaluation and treatment of patients under supervision.

Licenses Issued and Active:

In 2012, there were 18 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2013, there were 19 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of April 1, 2014, there were 808 registered licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority:

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Mental Health Practitioners Unit
89 Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 592
Phone: (518) 402-2323
E-mail: opunit5@mail.nysed.gov

Standard Occupational Classification:

29-1066.00 - Psychiatrists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information:

CASTLE Worldwide, Inc.
Attn: NY Exams
PO Box 570
Morrisville, NC 27560
Phone: (800) 655-4845 or (919) 572-6880
E-mail:info@castleworldwide.com

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 7/29/14.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.