Workplace Safety and Loss Prevention Consultant
A workplace safety and loss prevention consultant is certified by the New York State Commissioner of Labor to perform a workplace safety and loss prevention consultation for employers who are covered by Section 134(1) of the New York State Workers Compensation Law. The consultant conducts workplace safety and health consultations for businesses with high injury rates to identify hazards and recommend improvements in the safety and health management program to reduce injuries.
To become certified in New York State as a Workplace Safety and Loss Prevention Consultant, applicants must meet one of the qualifications listed below:
Qualify as a Certified Safety Professional (CSP)
- or -
Qualify as a Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH)
- or -
Be certified as a Certified Safety Executive (CSE), a Certified Safety Manager (CSM) or a Certified Safety Specialist (CSS)
- or -
Qualify as a New York State Licensed Professional Engineer, with 5 years of documented professional safety and health experience within the last 8 years
- or -
Have earned a Bachelor of Science or higher degree in industrial hygiene, safety, occupational safety and health, biology, chemistry, environmental health and science, physics, engineering or a related field with 5 years documented professional safety and health experience within the last 8 years
- or -
Have completed 8 1/2 years of documented professional safety and health experience within the last 10 years
- or -
Qualify as an insurance professional who also satisfies requirements for an Associate in Loss of Control Management (ALCM), or as an Associate in Risk Management (ARM), plus 5 years of appropriate safety and health experience.
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
Fees: (as of March 1, 2012)
- $900 per person when 1-2 people apply
- $600 per person when 3-5 people apply
- $450 per person when 6-10 people apply
- $400 per person when 11-20 people apply
- $350 per person when 21+ people apply
- $300 per person when 1-2 people apply
- $210 per person when 3-5 people apply
- $165 per person when 6-10 people apply
- $150 per person when 11-20 people apply
- $135 per person when 21+ people apply
*Valid term of 3 years
Certificates Issued and Active:
As of March 1, 2012, there were 530 active certificates outstanding for this occupation.
New York State Department of Labor .
Division of Safety and Health
Licensing and Certification Bureau
State Office Campus, Building 12, Room 161
Albany, New York 12240-0001
Phone: (518) 485-7815
Fax: (518) 485-8530
Authorizing Statute - Section 204 of the New York State Labor Law.
Standard Occupational Classification:
29-9010 - Occupational Health and Safety Specialists and Technicians
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 11/1/12.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.