Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Claimant: Frequently Asked Questions

On December 22, 2014, Governor Cuomo announced disaster aid available through the Federal Emergency Management Agency available to Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Lewis, Orleans, St. Lawrence and Wyoming counties. This disaster aid will help pay for activities like debris removal and the rebuilding of damaged public infrastructure. In addition, several loan programs are available to assist small businesses, non-profits and homeowners. Federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance was not included because FEMA's Individual Assistance requests are solely based on the number of homes rendered uninhabitable by a disaster and the region did not meet this strict federal requirement.

Anyone who believes they may be entitled to regular Unemployment Insurance benefits should apply through the Department of Labor, which will make a determination based on each individual’s circumstance.

Claims can be filed: Online or by phone: 1-888-209-8124 for New York State residents or 1-877-358-5306 for out-of-state residents


Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.