Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

New York State Child Labor Law vs Federal Law

General Provisions of the Law

New York State
Child Labor Law

Federal
Child Labor Law


Revocation of Employment Certificate (Working Papers)

Employment Certificate (Working papers) may be revoked by education authorities where a student has failed no less than 4 academic courses in one semester.

No similar requirements


Posting

Employer must post scheduled hours of work each week for minor.

Changes may be made by employer

Maximum hours may not be exceeded

No similar requirements


No similar requirements

No similar requirements

General Industry Employment

New York State
Child Labor Law

Federal
Child Labor Law


16 & 17 Year-olds
School NOT in Session
Permitted to work up to

8 Hours per day

48 Hours per week

Between 6 AM and 12 Midnight

No similar requirements

No similar requirements

No similar requirements


16 & 17 Year-olds
School in Session
Permitted to work up to

4 hours on a day preceding a school day (M-T-W- Th)

Up to 6 hours on a day preceding a school day in an approved cooperative program if these hours are in conjunction with the program

May work up to 8 hours on Fri., Sat., Sun. or holidays

May work up to 28 hours per week

May work between 6 AM and 10 PM on a day preceding a school day or until midnight with written parental consent and a certificate of satisfactory academic standing from the school

May work between 6 AM and 10 PM on a day preceeding a non-school day or until midnight with written parental consent.

No similar requirements

No similar requirements


No similar requirements

No similar requirements

No similar requirements



No similar requirements


14 & 15 Year-olds
School NOT Session

June 21st to Labor Day
May be employed between:

7 AM and 9 PM

8 hours per day

40 hours per week

June 1st to Labor Day
May be employed between:

7 AM and 9 PM

8 hours per day

40 hours per week


14 & 15 Year-olds
School in Session
Hours Permitted Outside of School Hours

Between 7 AM and 7 PM

3 hours on a school day

8 hours on a non-school day

Maximum of 18 hours per week

Same requirements

Same requirements

Same requirements

Same requirements


Work Study Programs

3 hours on a school day

8 hours on a non-school day

Maximum of 23 hours per week

Same requirements

Same requirements

Same requirements

Agricultural Employment

New York State
Child Labor Law

Federal
Child Labor Law

12 & 13 Year-olds Hand-Harvest of Fruits, Berries & Vegetables

Between June 21st and Labor Day, 12 and 13 year-olds with a Farm Work Permit and written consent of parent may be employed up to 4 hours between the hours of 7 AM and 7 PM. Between the day after Labor day and June 20th, 12 and 13 year-olds may be employed between the hours of 9 AM and 4 PM when attendance at school is not required.

May be employed with written parental consent or on a farm where the minor's parent or person standing in place of a parent is employed, but not during school hours.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.