Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Workplace Safety & Loss Prevention

We Can Help You Improve Workplace Safety and Lower Costs: 

Under the Workers’ Compensation Reform Law of 2007, the New York State Department of Labor administers workplace safety and loss prevention programs.  The goal is to make workplaces safer and reduce workers’ compensation costs.  There are two programs: one required and the other voluntary.   

Code Rule 59

 

The required program is called Industrial Code Rule 59, Workplace Safety and Loss Prevention.  See Code Rule 59.  It requires a comprehensive safety and loss prevention consultation and evaluation for an employer with:

  • An annual payroll of over $800,000
  • A workers' compensation experience modification rating of more than 1.20

The New York Compensation Insurance Rating Board (NYCIRB) issues notices to employers that must participate in the program.  You can visit the Rating Board's webpage at http://www.nycirb.org/ for more information about how they determine who receives the notices.  After the notices are sent, the Labor Department is responsible for monitoring and compliance.

Employers that do not follow the law will receive a 5% surcharge on the manual portion of their workers’ compensation premium. The surcharge goes up an extra 5% for each year they do not comply.

How to Comply with Code Rule 59

Code Rule 60

The voluntary program is called Industrial Code Rule 60, the Workplace Safety and Loss Incentive Program (WSLPIP) (See Code Rule 60).  This program gives a credit to:

  • Self-insured employers 
  • Insured employers with an experience rating of less than
    1.30 and an annual workers compensation premium of at least $5,000

You can get a credit if you volunteer to start one or more of the following programs for: 

  • Safety
  • Drug and Alcohol Prevention
  • Return-to-Work

WSLPIP Fact Sheet

 

 

How to Apply for an Incentive Credit under Code Rule 60.


To get more information about Workplace Safety and Loss Prevention Programs, see Model Programs, Additional Resources, and Links

How to Contact Us

Send all correspondence for Code Rule 59 and 60 to: 

Attention: Program Manager
New York State Department of Labor
Workplace Safety and Loss Prevention Program
State Office Campus, Building 12, Room 167
Albany, NY 12240  

(518) 485-9766 Phone 
(518) 457-1639 Fax 

 

By E-Mail: WSLPIP@labor.ny.gov

Related Links 

NYS Insurance Fund                                                                      

http://www.nysif.com/

 

 

 

NYS Department of Insurance                                                 

http://www.ins.state.ny.us/  

 

NYS Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse

http://www.oasas.state.ny.us/index.cfm  

 

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board                                 

http://www.wcb.state.ny.us  

 

NYS Workers’ Compensation Law Section 134 – Workplace Safety and Loss Prevention Programs

http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/menugetf.cgi?COMMONQUERY=LAWS
 

 

US Census Bureau - NAICS classification codes

http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/  

 

Public Health Resources
http://www.publichealth.org/resources/addiction/

 

"Workplace Safety Begins with You!"


Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.